Mother’s Day

Who knew those 2 little words could inspire so many different feelings in one person? I’d like to share with you the emotions I’ve experienced over the years around this holiday. 

For the first 22 or so years, I’d have to say gratitude was at the top of the list. God has blessed me with a mom who is the absolute best mom in the entire world (and if you don’t argue for your own mom to occupy that spot, we need to chat). I never could understand how one woman could have such a plethora of qualities. Selflessness, toughness, kindness, constancy, silliness, & most importantly unconditional, sacrificial love, just to name a few. Talk about setting the bar high…

Around 10 years ago, Mother’s Day began to morph in its meaning to me, almost taking on a multiple personality disorder aspect. Beginning with our decision to expand our family, through our fertility struggles, a hiatus for school, deciding to adopt & up to now it looked a little like this: excitement, confusion, hopeful excitement, envy, anger, resentment, gratitude (school break allowed me to focus back on my own mama instead of myself), hopefulness, & then back to excitement.

Why excitement you ask…

Well, this past Thursday Nick & I had the privilege of meeting with the beautiful, sacrificial young woman that has chosen us to be the parents of her baby! We can’t reveal too many of the details yet but suffice it to say we believe it was a match made in heaven. I can’t even begin to describe not only the happiness but the absolute rightness we both felt as we left that meeting. 

“For I know the plans I have for you” declares the Lord, “Plans to prosper you & not to harm you, plans to give you hope & a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Beautiful, right? If you’ve never really thought about that verse, you should. 

While we are excited there are still hurdles to cross & a lot can happen in the meantime.  We would love your prayers & support. Please join us as we pray for this sweet lady through the rest of her pregnancy, for her doctors & nurses, for our baby & for our preparations to welcome our kiddo home. We will keep you all posted, as allowed, on the proceedings. Just know that things are happening quickly!

So, God willing, my next Mother’s Day will be an extra special one (& Nick’s Father’s Day as well!).

-Mary 

 

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful news. I am so excited and can’t wait until you bring this little one home as your own. Keep me posted…I know Allan & Esther are beside themselves.

    JoAnn

    >

  2. Nick & Mary,
    This is amazing news! I will continue to pray for you all that the remaining days until you are able to take your bundle of joy home will go as smoothly as possible. God is good!

    Love,
    Lauren

  3. I am extremely happy for you two! That child is going to be one of the luckiest kids on the planet having parents like you. You both already know this, but I’ll say it again anyway, if you need something and I have it, it’s yours. Let me know what I can do to help. Love you guys!

Leave a comment